Missed thought

The other day I was travelling by bus and was pondering over two things, one thought was about what I wrote in my last blog post; about building an amusement park in Ayodhya. The other one though, was lost in thin air! (Using that proverb just to sugar coat things, actually there is no such thing as “thin air” in Mumbai. The air here is filled with thick smoke coming out of vehicles). I was really excited, because I realised that I had something to write about for my next 2 blog posts. But I lost that thought because of something that happened in the bus. The bus conductor is generally short of change and takes money from you and gives back the pending change once he gets it from other commuters. So this guy claimed that he had given 50 bucks to the conductor and had to get 35 bucks back. But the conductor stuck to his point that the guy had only given 20 bucks and deserved to get only Rs 5 back. It looked like the guy belonged to a well off family and would not lie just to earn 30 more bucks. So with my assumption I thought of interfering and asked the conductor to take it easy and told him that he must have forgotten. But he was very stubborn and stuck to his point that he had never made a mistake like this since 5 years. He also told me. “Who are you to question me?” I somehow tried convincing him and told him that sometimes you can’t trust your memory when you are dealing with so many things to remember. The conductor finally gave up but the most annoying thing that he did at the end is he said “Ok, if you think I forgot, then I must have forgotten” The powerful statement that he made, made me uncomfortable for almost 2 hours. I started wondering, maybe I made a wrong assumption. By the end of 2 hours I forgot the 2nd thought that came to me before the whole incident took place. I actually learned a lesson that you can’t really trust your memory at times. But I am happy, I had something to write anyways! 🙂

 

2 comments

  1. I really like what you’re doing here. there seems to be a positive vibe! what to do as you do and show others how. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

